Paul Van Heyningen OBE

Deputy director, net zero electricity networks - BEIS

Paul is leading BEIS's new Net Zero Electricity Networks team, working to ensure electricity networks are ready for a zero carbon world, including mass uptake of electric vehicles and the electrification of heat. 

Rachel Fletcher

Director of regulation and economics - Octopus Energy

Rachel is director of economics and regulation at Octopus Energy, having previously held the role of chief executive officer at Ofwat.

Laura Sandys

Chair - Government’s Energy Digitalisation Taskforce

Laura Sandys specialises in the energy, food and resource sectors, focusing on energy markets, digitalisation, food security and resource management. Recently she Chaired the Energy System Data Taskforce on behalf of BEIS, Ofgem and Innovate UK working the Energy Systems read more

Councillor Tom Hayes

Cabinet member for green transport and zero - Oxford City Council

Tom is an elected City Councillor for St Clement’s Ward in East Oxford. First elected to the City Council in 2014, then re-elected in 2018, Tom lives in the ward that he represents. He is Deputy Leader of the Council read more

Ian Cameron

Head of innovation and customer - UK Power Networks

Ian Cameron has over 20 years’ international experience in the electricity distribution networks industry. His background is in network operation, capital construction and connections, with a specific focus on renewable energy and system optimisation, this focus is supported through his read more

Sarah Williams

Director of regulation and asset strategy - Wales & West Utilities

Sarah’s career began in the energy industry in the late 90s before joining Wales & West Utilities in 2005. With over 20 years’ experience in a range of strategic, operational and managerial roles, she most recently headed up the development read more

Kayte O’Neill

Head of markets - National Grid ESO

Kayte is Head of Markets for the ESO, accountable for designing and facilitating markets to enable future operation of Great Britain’s electricity system on the path to net zero. Kayte joined National Grid PLC in 2002 and has held a read more

James Richardson

Chief economist - National Infrastructure Commission

James was appointed Chief Economist to the Commission in March 2016. Prior to this, James served as Director, Fiscal and Deputy Chief Economic Adviser at HM Treasury (2012-16) and Director, Public Spending (2008-12).  He ran Spending Review 2010 and led read more

Priya Bhagavathy

Whole system manager - SSE

As a whole system manager in SSEN Transmission, Priya’s key role is to establish whole system thinking as a business-as-usual approach. Priya has more than a decade of professional experience in the energy transition interweaving technology, regulation and policy paradigms. read more

David Watson

Head of energy transition - Cadent

David has over twenty years’ experience in the energy industry, with leadership roles in a variety of policy, regulatory and strategy positions.  He was previously Director, Group Strategy at Centrica where he led the development of their decarbonisation of power, mobility and read more